LibGuides: Subject Resources: Materials Science: Home

Overview and Databases

JPL Library Subject Guides highlight resources in our Library on specific topics. This guide covers resources on materials science, and is periodically updated.

You must have a valid JPL badge to directly borrow or download any items cited on this guide.

However, if you are reading this guide and are at another organization, you may work with your organization or public library to borrow print copies from JPL via interlibrary loan. Electronic copies are not available outside of JPL.

Aerospace & High-Performance Alloys Database (AHAD) This link opens in a new window
The AHAD contains materials properties data on 298 alloys, with nearly 100,000 data curves and 19,329 pages. Produced by the by the Center for Information and Numerical Data Analysis and Synthesis (CINDAS) at Purdue University.
Aerospace Structural Metals Database (ASMD) This link opens in a new window
This is the web-based version of the highly respected and widely used Aerospace Structural Metals Handbook (ASMH) developed by Air Force and NASA. The ASMD has quickly become the industry benchmark for materials properties of high strength, lightweight alloys. It now contains more than 93,600 data curves and over 17,300 pages of critically evaluated information on over 254 alloys used in the aerospace and other industries. Produced by by the Center for Information and Numerical Data Analysis and Synthesis (CINDAS) at Purdue University.
ASM Alloy Center Database
The ASM Alloy Center Database? Alloy Finder is an authoritative database of more than 120,000 alloy designations,specifications, standards, and commercial grades in the U.S. and globally. The latest release includes nearly 14,500 new and updated ferrous and nonferrous alloy standards specification data sheets: UNS, ASTM, ASME, and International standards (BSI, BIS, JIS, etc.). Use Alloy Finder to answer questions like:
ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Database This link opens in a new window
Explore, search and view more than 28,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase and crystal data for more than 6200 systems.
ASM Handbooks This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology, published by ASM International, the preeminent association for engaging and connecting materials professionals and their organizations.
Handbooks published by ASM International have been key information resources for the materials engineering community ever since 1923, when the Handbook of the American Society for Steel Treating was published. (The ASST was the precursor to the American Society for Metals, now ASM International.) From 1936 to 1990, the series was known as the Metals Handbook. In 1991, the name was changed from Metals Handbook to ASM Handbook to reflect the increasing coverage of polymers, ceramics, and composite materials in the series.

What started with a single loose-leaf volume in 1923 has grown to a current collection of more than 35 volumes providing authoritative data and information on the properties, processing, and applications of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials.

The handbook program is overseen by the ASM Handbook Committee, with a volunteer membership made up of materials professionals from industry, research, and academia. Handbooks are planned and written by volunteer groups organized by the Handbook Committee.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Mirroring the growth and direction of science for nearly a century, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, continues to be the most accessed and respected scientific reference in the world, used by students and Nobel Laureates.
Microeletronics Packaging Materials Database This link opens in a new window
The MPMD contains data and information on thermal, mechanical, electrical and physical properties of electronics packaging materials, and it is available in a Web-based format. The database is continually updated and expanded. The MPMD contains 1,080 materials, 405 properties, and contains approximately 23,450 data curves.
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window
Access to numerical and graphical data on the properties of materials from the Landolt-Brnstein New Series, the Linus Pauling Files and other integrated resources. SpringerMaterials provides curated data and advanced functionalities to support research in materials science, physics, chemistry, engineering, and other related fields
Thermophysical Properties of Matter Database (TPMD) This link opens in a new window
The TPMD contains data and information on thermophysical properties of over 5,000 materials categorized into 85 material groups, 107 properties, and over 51,700 data curves.The database is continually updated and expanded.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIsearch), 1900+; Social Science Citation Index, 1990+; and Humanities Citation Index, 1994+

Librarian

Dudee Chiang

Email Me

Contact:

111-103

4-8260