Skip to main content

Jet Propulsion Laboratory Archives: Historical Photo of the Month

Guide for accessing all types of materials in the JPL Archives.

Access Previous Historical Photos of the Month

Each below photo will link to the full size image on Pub-Lib. In the upper right hand corner, click on the three dots, then click on Details to see the full caption of each image. 

August 2020

Mask Training in 1957
Photograph number P-902B

In November 1957, Scott Aviation Corporation was invited to hold a training session next to the JPL fire station, demonstrating how to use their Scott Breath Air Pak. See more...


Original text from Lab-Oratory, December 1957, page 8

"AN OUNCE OF PREVENTION...you know the pitch. It's old but it never goes out of style. The best way to handle fumes, gas, air pollutants, etc., is not to have them in the first place. See more... 

July 2020:

JPL Director Dr. Lew Allan and Deputy Director Dr. Peter Lyman

Photograph number P-32891

In this 1988 photo, JPL Director Dr. Lew Allen (left) and his Deputy Director Dr. Peter Lyman met in JPL’s administration building, where the executive offices are collectively known as “the 9th floor.”  See more...  

July 2020:

Deputy Director Peter Lyman, Portrait

Photograph number P-35400

Dr. Peter T. Lyman in January 1990, several years after he became Deputy Director of JPL. See more...

July 2020:

Deputy Director Peter Lyman in his office

Photograph number P-34960

Deputy Director Dr. Peter T. Lyman in his 9th floor office in JPL’s administration building, shortly after new furniture was delivered in August 1989. See more...

January 2018:

Henry Richter started working at JPL in 1955 as an engineer and Supervisor for the New Circuit Elements Group. See more...

Historical Photo of the Month

September 2020

Celebration of the 45th Anniversary of the Viking Orbiter 2 launch

Photograph number P-20122Ac

9 September 2020 marks the 45th anniversary of the launch of Viking Orbiter 2. Launched only twenty days after its identical counterpart, Viking Orbiter 1, VO-2 played a crucial role in our current understanding of the Martian landscape. This photo was taken on 3 March 1978 during a team event, where they celebrated with a cake depicting the spacecraft and Mars. The celebration extended to the entire Lab – in keeping with the Lab’s tradition of commemorating landmark events with pins and other memorabilia, Viking 2 stamps were made available by the JPL Stamp Club.

We’d love to hear from you! If you can identify anyone in this photo, or for more information about the history of JPL, please contact the JPL Archives at archives@jpl.nasa.gov.

Celebration of the 45th anniversary of the Viking Orbiter 2 launch

9 September 2020 marks the 45th anniversary of the launch of Viking Orbiter 2. Launched only twenty days after its identical counterpart, Viking Orbiter 1, VO-2 played a crucial role in our current understanding of the Martian landscape. This photo was taken on 3 March 1978 during a team event, where they celebrated with a cake depicting the spacecraft and Mars. The celebration extended to the entire Lab – in keeping with the Lab’s tradition of commemorating landmark events with pins and other memorabilia, Viking 2 stamps were made available by the JPL Stamp Club.

We’d love to hear from you! If you can identify anyone in this photo, or for more information about the history of JPL, please contact the JPL Archives at archives@jpl.nasa.gov.

Contact information for the JPL Archives:

If you have questions about historical photos, or about the history of JPL, please contact the JPL Archives.