Subject Resources: Machine Learning: Print Books

Unlock modern machine learning and deep learning techniques with Python by using the latest cutting-edge open source Python libraries. About This Book * Second edition of the bestselling book on Machine Learning * A practical approach to key frameworks in data science, machine learning, and deep learning * Use the most powerful Python libraries to implement machine learning and deep learning * Get to know the best practices to improve and optimize your machine learning systems and algorithms Who This Book Is For If you know some Python and you want to use machine learning and deep learning, pick up this book. Whether you want to start from scratch or extend your machine learning knowledge, this is an essential and unmissable resource. Written for developers and data scientists who want to create practical machine learning and deep learning code, this book is ideal for developers and data scientists who want to teach computers how to learn from data. What You Will Learn * Understand the key frameworks in data science, machine learning, and deep learning * Harness the power of the latest Python open source libraries in machine learning * Explore machine learning techniques using challenging real-world data * Master deep neural network implementation using the TensorFlow library * Learn the mechanics of classification algorithms to implement the best tool for the job * Predict continuous target outcomes using regression analysis * Uncover hidden patterns and structures in data with clustering * Delve deeper into textual and social media data using sentiment analysis In Detail Machine learning is eating the software world, and now deep learning is extending machine learning. Understand and work at the cutting edge of machine learning, neural networks, and deep learning with this second edition of Sebastian Raschka's bestselling book, Python Machine Learning.

This book is a comprehensive guide to machine learning with worked examples in MATLAB. It starts with an overview of the history of Artificial Intelligence and automatic control and how the field of machine learning grew from these. It provides descriptions of all major areas in machine learning. The book reviews commercially available packages for machine learning and shows how they fit into the field. The book then shows how MATLAB can be used to solve machine learning problems and how MATLAB graphics can enhance the programmer's understanding of the results and help users of their software grasp the results. Machine Learning can be very mathematical. The mathematics for each area is introduced in a clear and concise form so that even casual readers can understand the math. Readers from all areas of engineering will see connections to what they know and will learn new technology. The book then provides complete solutions in MATLAB for several important problems in machine learning including face identification, autonomous driving, and data classification. Full source code is provided for all of the examples and applications in the book.

A thorough and accessible presentation of machine learning techniques that can be employed by space weather professionals. Additionally, it presents an overview of real-world applications in space science to the machine learning community, offering a bridge between the fields. As this volume demonstrates, real advances in space weather can be gained using nontraditional approaches that take into account nonlinear and complex dynamics, including information theory, nonlinear auto-regression models, neural networks and clustering algorithms. Offering practical techniques for translating the huge amount of information hidden in data into useful knowledge that allows for better prediction, this book is a unique and important resource for space physicists, space weather professionals and computer scientists in related fields.

Astronomy has become data-driven in ways that are both quantitatively and qualitatively different from the past: data structures are not simple; procedures to gain astrophyical insights are not obvious; and the information content of the data sets is so high that archival research and data mining are not merely convenient, but obligatory, as researchers who obtain the data can only extract a small fraction of the science enabled by it. IAU Symposium 325 took place at a crucial stage in the development of the field, when many efforts have carried significant achievements, but the widespread groups have just begun to effectively communicate across specialites, to gather and assimilate their achievements, and to consult cross-disciplinary experts. Bringing together astronomers involved in surveys and large simulation projects, computer scientists, data scientists, and companies, this volume showcases their fruitful exchange of ideas, methods, software, and technical capabilities.

Anaconda is an open source platform that brings together the best tools for data science professionals with more than 100 popular packages supporting Python, Scala, and R languages. Hands-On Data Science with Anaconda gets you started with Anaconda and demonstrates how you can use it to perform data science operations in the real world.

The book begins with setting up the environment for Anaconda platform in order to make it accessible for tools and frameworks such as Jupyter, pandas, matplotlib, Python, R, Julia, and more. You'll walk through package manager Conda, through which you can automatically manage all packages including cross-language dependencies, and work across Linux, macOS, and Windows. You'll explore all the essentials of data science and linear algebra to perform data science tasks using packages such as SciPy, contrastive, scikit-learn, Rattle, and Rmixmod.

Once you're accustomed to all this, you'll start with operations in data science such as cleaning, sorting, and data classification. You'll move on to learning how to perform tasks such as clustering, regression, prediction, and building machine learning models and optimizing them. In addition to this, you'll learn how to visualize data using the packages available for Julia, Python, and R.

This book discusses the different topics that come under the title of "3D shape analysis". It covers the theoretical foundations and the major solutions that have been presented in the literature. It also establishes links between solutions proposed by different communities that studied 3D shape, such as mathematics and statistics, medical imaging, computer vision, and computer graphics.

The first part of 3D Shape Analysis: Fundamentals, Theory, and Applications provides a review of the background concepts such as methods for the acquisition and representation of 3D geometries, and the fundamentals of geometry and topology. It specifically covers stereo matching, structured light, and intrinsic vs. extrinsic properties of shape. Parts 2 and 3 present a range of mathematical and algorithmic tools (which are used for e.g., global descriptors, keypoint detectors, local feature descriptors, and algorithms) that are commonly used for the detection, registration, recognition, classification, and retrieval of 3D objects. Both also place strong emphasis on recent techniques motivated by the spread of commodity devices for 3D acquisition. Part 4 demonstrates the use of these techniques in a selection of 3D shape analysis applications. It covers 3D face recognition, object recognition in 3D scenes, and 3D shape retrieval. It also discusses examples of semantic applications and cross domain 3D retrieval, i.e. how to retrieve 3D models using various types of modalities, e.g. sketches and/or images. The book concludes with a summary of the main ideas and discussions of the future trends.

3D Shape Analysis: Fundamentals, Theory, and Applications is an excellent reference for graduate students, researchers, and professionals in different fields of mathematics, computer science, and engineering. It is also ideal for courses in computer vision and computer graphics, as well as for those seeking 3D industrial/commercial solutions.

The fundamental mathematical tools needed to understand machine learning include linear algebra, analytic geometry, matrix decompositions, vector calculus, optimization, probability, and statistics. These topics are traditionally taught in disparate courses, making it hard for data science or computer science students, or professionals, to efficiently learn the mathematics. This self-contained textbook bridges the gap between mathematical and machine learning texts, introducing the mathematical concepts with a minimum of prerequisites. It uses these concepts to derive four central machine learning methods: linear regression, principal component analysis, Gaussian mixture models, and support vector machines. For students and others with a mathematical background, these derivations provide a starting point to machine learning texts. For those learning the mathematics for the first time, the methods help build intuition and practical experience with applying mathematical concepts.

Through a series of recent breakthroughs, deep learning has boosted the entire field of machine learning. Now, even programmers who know close to nothing about this technology can use simple, efficient tools to implement programs capable of learning from data. The updated edition of this best-selling book uses concrete examples, minimal theory, and two production-ready Python frameworks-Scikit-Learn and TensorFlow 2-to help you gain an intuitive understanding of the concepts and tools for building intelligent systems. Practitioners will learn a range of techniques that they can quickly put to use on the job. Part 1 employs Scikit-Learn to introduce fundamental machine learning tasks, such as simple linear regression. Part 2, which has been significantly updated, employs Keras and TensorFlow 2 to guide the reader through more advanced machine learning methods using deep neural networks. With exercises in each chapter to help you apply what you've learned, all you need is programming experience to get started. NEW FOR THE SECOND EDITION:Updated all code to TensorFlow 2 ; Introduced the high-level Keras API ; New and expanded coverage including TensorFlow's Data API, Eager Execution, Estimators API, deploying on Google Cloud ML, handling time series, embeddings and more With Early Release ebooks, you get books in their earliest form-the author's raw and unedited content as he or she writes-so you can take advantage of these technologies long before the official release of these titles. You'll also receive updates when significant changes are made, new chapters are available, and the final ebook bundle is released.

From news and speeches to informal chatter on social media, natural language is one of the richest and most underutilized sources of data. Not only does it come in a constant stream, always changing and adapting in context; it also contains information that is not conveyed by traditional data sources. The key to unlocking natural language is through the creative application of text analytics. This practical book presents a data scientist's approach to building language-aware products with applied machine learning. You will learn robust, repeatable, and scalable techniques for text analysis with Python, including contextual and linguistic feature engineering, vectorization, classification, topic modeling, entity resolution, graph analysis, and visual steering. By the end of the book, you'll be equipped with practical methods to solve any number of complex real-world problems.- Preprocess and vectorize text into high-dimensional feature representations - Perform document classification and topic modeling - Steer the model selection process with visual diagnostics - Extract key phrases, named entities, and graph structures to reason about data in text - Build a dialog framework to enable chatbots and language-driven interaction - Use Spark to scale processing power and neural networks to scale model complexity.

Learn the skills necessary to design, build, and deploy applications powered by machine learning (ML). Through the course of this hands-on book, you'll build an example ML-driven application from initial idea to deployed product. Data scientists, software engineers, and product managers--including experienced practitioners and novices alike--will learn the tools, best practices, and challenges involved in building a real-world ML application step by step.Author Emmanuel Ameisen, an experienced data scientist who led an AI education program, demonstrates practical ML concepts using code snippets, illustrations, screenshots, and interviews with industry leaders. Part I teaches you how to plan an ML application and measure success. Part II explains how to build a working ML model. Part III demonstrates ways to improve the model until it fulfills your original vision. Part IV covers deployment and monitoring strategies.This book will help you: Define your product goal and set up a machine learning problemBuild your first end-to-end pipeline quickly and acquire an initial datasetTrain and evaluate your ML models and address performance bottlenecksDeploy and monitor your models in a production environment.

Artificial Intelligence (AI) has become a popular research topic recently. Pattern recognition (PR) is an important part of an AI system. In this book, the authors have collected the latest work from leading researchers in the PR fields. The topics are broad, which include optical implementation of various filters, digital implementation of state-of-the-art neural network (NN) training methods, and the latest deep leaning (DL) models. We also included applications of PR in various fields. An optical implementation of an advanced multi-stage automatic target recognition (ATR) processor is introduced. The deep neural network (DNN) learning model has become a phenomenal research topic.State-of-the-art DNN architectures are introduced. Applications of DNN in object segmentation, recognition and augmented reality are presented. Recent trends on invariant pattern recognition via joint transform correlation (JTC) are presented. Enhanced correlation filters are discussed and tested for face recognition and texture identification. A class of optical synthetic filters, the optimal trade-off maximum average correlation height (OT-MACH) filter is investigated. The spatial domain OT-MACH (SPOT-MACH) filters are compared to the frequency domain filters for PR in infrared (IR) images with poor contrast or large illumination gradients. Cyber security has become an important research topic. Most cyber-attacks follow a certain pattern. Chapter Five discusses the applications of DL models as a PR technique to exploit this underlying characteristic of the cyber-attack data in information security. The last few chapters discuss the recognition of handwritten numerals in the Modified National Institute of Standard (MNIST) database using probabilistic neural network (PNN) models, several training methodologies of the artificial neural network (ANN) models and the ANN training models are used in extracting spatial features for printed characters recognition.

Provides a practical guide to get started and execute on machine learning within a few days without necessarily knowing much about machine learning.The first five chapters are enough to get you started and the next few chapters provide you a good feel of more advanced topics to pursue.

Since the third edition of this text appeared in 2014, most recent advances in machine learning, both in theory and application, are related to neural networks and deep learning. In this new edition, the author has extended the discussion of multilayer perceptrons. He has also added a new chapter on deep learning including training deep neural networks, regularizing them so they learn better, structuring them to improve learning, e.g., through convolutional layers, and their recurrent extensions with short-term memory necessary for learning sequences. There is a new section on generative adversarial networks that have found an impressive array of applications in recent years. Alpaydin has also extended the chapter on reinforcement learning to discuss the use of deep networks in reinforcement learning. There is a new section on the policy gradient method that has been used frequently in recent years with neural networks, and two additional sections on two examples of deep reinforcement learning, which both made headlines when they were announced in 2015 and 2016 respectively. One is a network that learns to play arcade video games, and the other one learns to play Go. There are also revisions in other chapters reflecting new approaches, such as embedding methods for dimensionality reduction, and multi-label classification. In response to requests from instructors, this new edition contains two new appendices on linear algebra and optimization, to remind the reader of the basics of those topics that find use in machine learning.