Overview and Databases
JPL Library Subject Guides highlight resources in our Library on specific topics. This guide covers resources in mechanical engineering, and is periodically updated.
The "Highly Recommended Resources" box list materials recommended by experienced members within JPL's Mechanical Engineering section.
You must have a valid JPL badge to directly borrow or download any items cited on this guide.
However, if you are reading this guide and you are with another institution, you may work with your organization or public library to borrow print copies from JPL via interlibrary loan. Electronic copies are not available outside of JPL.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowA database of records for journal articles, meeting papers, dissertations, books, and book chapters in the engineering, technology, and physical sciences. Links to full text are provided if the JPL Library has subscription to the journal, conference proceeding, or the book.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles, meeting papers from IEEE and IET journals and conferences. IEEE Standards are also included. JPL subscription include ebooks from IEEE/MIT and IEEE/Wiley collaborations.
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowScience Citation Index Expanded (SCIsearch), 1900+; Social Science Citation Index, 1990+; and Humanities Citation Index, 1994+
- JournalsList of JPL subscribed journals related to mechanical engineering
Highly Recommended Resources
- aerospace mechanismsCall Number: TL875 .H582Publication Date: 1970Copy available from JPL Library
Introduction to Robotics by Call Number: TJ211 .C67 2018ISBN: 9780133489798Publication Date: 2018Copies available from JPL Library
Machinery's Handbook by Call Number: TJ151 .O245 2012ISBN: 9780831129002Publication Date: 2012-01-16Copy available from JPL Library
Machinery's Handbook Guide by Call Number: TJ151 .A445 2012ISBN: 9780831129033Publication Date: 2012Copy available from JPL Library
Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, 12th Edition by Call Number: TJ151 .A92 2018ISBN: 9781259588501Publication Date: 2018Print copy available from JPL Library
Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook, 5th Edition by Call Number: TJ181 .S28 2011ISBN: 9780071704427Publication Date: 2011Copy available from JPL Library
Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, 8th Edition by Call Number: TA407.2 .R628 2012ISBN: 9780071742474Publication Date: 2012Copies available from JPL Library
Shigley's Mechanical Engineering Design by Call Number: TJ230 .S555 2015ISBN: 9780073398204Publication Date: 2015Print copies available from JPL Library.
- NASA Space Mechanism Handbook and Reference Guide CD-ROMThe Space Mechanisms Handbook written at the NASA Glenn Research Center details the state-of-the-art in space mechanisms design as of 1998. This handbook has been expanded into a two-volume CD-ROM set in an Adobe Acrobat format.
This description is from NASA Technical Report Server (https://ntrs.nasa.gov) - Layman's Guide (aka: A Useful Guide for Chief (& Other) Mechanical Engineers- JPL DocID: 36752This links to JPL Wired, the JPL internal encyclopedia for U.S. persons.
Layman's Guide was written by Bill Layman, who has since retired from JPL. While at JPL from 1961 to 1999, Bill Layman fulfilled responsibilities such as Chief Mechanical Engineer on Voyager, Galileo, and Pathfinder. Layman's guide gives guidance on best practices for leading engineering teams, interacting in meetings and quiet hours, and generally engaging the entire project in engineering excellence. - A Useful Guide for Chief (& Other) Mechanical Engineers (Volume 1 & 2)This is the link to JPL Rules! version of Layman's Guide.
- - Layman’s Questions to ask at Design ReviewsLinks to JPL Wired article by the same title. This Wired article is a candidate to be moved to Cosmos, the JPL encyclopedia open to all JPLers, including Foreign Nationals.
- Preferred Flight Fasterner ListThis links to JPL Rules DocID 66753. Accessible by JPL U.S. persons only.
Reference Materials
- Handbook of Research for Fluid and Solid Mechanics byISBN: 9781315365701Publication Date: 2017-11-23
Librarian
Contact the JPL Library
For additional information about any JPL Library resources and services please contact us:
- Slack #help-library
- Email: library@jpl.nasa.gov
- Phone: 818-354-4200
- Visit Building 111, Room 104 (the HUB) at JPL: 24/7 access with badge